Days, Months, and Seasons

The Ethiopian calendar is unique as it holds 13 months in a year and does not follow the Gregorian calendar (what most countries use). For this reason, common holidays, like Christmas and New Years are held on different days other than the 25th and 1st. Additionally, the Ethiopian calendar is about 7-8 years behind the Gregorian calendar.

Months of the Year: The new year begins on September 11. The current date in Ethiopia is November 24, 2013. Here’s a date convertor:

September = Meskerem

October = Tikimt

November = Hidar

December = Tahisas

January = Tir

February = Yekateet

March = Megabeet

April = Meeyaziya

May = Ginbot

June = Senie

July = Hamlae

August = Nehasie

September 6 – 10 (month 13) = Puagme


What is the date today?

Zarie sint ken new?

Today is December 3, 2020.

Zarie Tahisas soste, haya haya new.

Today is December 3, twenty twenty

Zarie Tahisas soste, hulet sheeh haya.

Today is December 3, two thousand twenty


Days of the Week

Monday = Segno

Tuesday = Maksegno

Wednesday = Rabu

Thursday = Hamus

Friday = Arb

Saturday = Kdamae

Sunday = Ihud


What day is today?

Zare Iletu manew?

Today is Thursday.

Zare Hamuse new.


Seasons: Because the Climate in Ethiopia is significantly different from ours, Ethiopian seasons have different weather meanings than American/European seasons.

Spring = Suhday, the driest season with the hottest temperatures

Summer = Krempt, the rainy season with the coolest temperatures

Autumn = Belg, resembles the American/European spring season

Winter = Bega, the beginning of the dry season, has a combination of cool and warm temperature



Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License

Resources for Self-Instructional Learners of Less Commonly Taught Languages Copyright © by University of Wisconsin-Madison Students in African 671 is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.